Growing stuff in my smallish suburban yard

Welcome Spring (almost)!

It’s a new year, and a new garden. I learned so much last year, growing (or trying to grow) a vegetable garden; unfortunately, the Seattle area had a bit of a bad weather year for edibles (at least in my garden). So this year I’ll be scaling the edibles way back, and focusing more on the flowers and other ornamentals that I love. I’ll still have my blueberries (maybe this year both plants will produce berries) and my little patch of strawberries, and the various herbs that made it through the winter. But most likely I’ll be replanting the veggie garden from last year with flowers.

This blog used to be called “Learning to Grow Food” but I decided that I’d better change it, since my focus won’t be on edibles any more (though I considered changing it to “Failing to Grow Food.” Ha!).

Anyway, here are a few of the new green things that have started to appear as this long and chilly winter winds down.

 

Always the first on the scene!

A little green has popped up on the honeysuckle on the back fence.

Some stray bulbs survived the veggie garden area. In the background, Mina wishes someone would play ball.

The daffodils under the old clematis are getting ready to bloom.

Bleeding hearts coming up.

Euphorbias are good in all kinds of weather.

2 responses

  1. Lovely photos. And here I am about to start my first home veg garden (small!!) in a looooong time…But the space for it keeps getting smaller and smaller as my true love is ornamentals…

    March 5, 2011 at 8:12 pm

  2. Gorgeous! You must be having a change of heart about the garden by now, yes?

    March 6, 2011 at 3:49 pm

Leave a Reply

