Growing stuff in my smallish suburban yard

Garden mystery – what IS this?

In 2009 I planted two Highbush blueberry plants. The first year I got lots of delicious berries from both. Last year, though, only one produced berries; the other was healthy and even grew quite large, but never had a single flower or berry. I told it that if it didn’t produce berries this year, it was going in the dumpster.

Well, it’s producing…something. I’m now pretty sure this is not a blueberry plant. It has little catkin-like buds, and the tallest branch is higher than the gutter (around 8 feet tall!). And I just looked, and there’s a blueberry plant at its base! So what is this thing? It must have been a secret passenger in the blueberry pot that took over, like a cuckoo’s egg.

Here are a couple of pictures of the buds. Any help at all would be welcome. It’s nice and tall and healthy, but I don’t know if I want to keep it. If no one knows, I’ll let it flower and then decide. But I’m sure one of my gardening friends will, right?

What is this??

One response

  1. Stacy Winnick

    It looks like a willow to me. The rampant growth would be consistent with that diagnosis. Good luck getting rid of it without sacrificing the poor little blueberry!

    April 14, 2011 at 1:27 am

Leave a Reply

